Walking (16 of 31)

It took me a long time to start walking when I was a baby, but once I started, I haven’t stopped.

Lao-Tsu is credited with saying, “A journey of a thousand miles starts with a single step.”  The original Chinese version actually says the journey begins beneath one’s feet.  On the ground.  According to the philosophy of Lao-Tsu, movement is something innate in stillness.

A couple of days ago, I posted about tango. If Lao-Tsu were alive today, he would be a tango dancer.  He knows where the dance begins and that it starts off with your body centered and grounded.  The dance floor is merely a springboard.

More to the point, Lao-Tsu understands the value of dynamic standing. He would be among the kings of tango leaders who understand that standing still is the first step of tango.  Intention is the second.

I took a walk last night because it was expeditious.  Tonight I have learned how to walk better.

Leave a Reply

