Sunday Sacred Sanctuary – Am I a “happy warrior”?

Epiphany.  Epiphany came twice to me today.

First, my sister advised me to begin saying “It’s not my problem” when something  outside my realm of responsibility and expertise happens at work.  I do my job consistently, and I cannot change the decisions made by others.

Second, my pastor, Dr. Andrew McQuitty, preached a sermon (Paul’s house arrest in Rome) that was undoubtedly put on his heart by God for me.

The common thread, the crux of the message, the gist of my epiphany today was this: Be consistent in what God has called you to do.  He will see to the results.  Truth.  Be a “happy warrior!

A corollary in my life?  I am a “minister” of superbly sound teaching of English Language Arts and Humanities.  My job is to teach what I love to teach to my students.  Furthermore, I help them comprehend and apply their knowledge by being available for tutoring and mentoring.  What they eventually do with the knowledge is not in my realm of control.  In short, the results (even in high-stakes STAAR EOC testing, Texas) are not my problem.  February was a month of striving for me because of the bad choices others made.  I simply couldn’t repair some of the consequences on my own.

What does this epiphany look like  in my life?  A less troubled countenance…  A joyful, “happy warrior” approach to my calling as Christian and teacher… Less stress about the results… More focus on the calling…  Time reclaimed for rejuvenation…

Basically, I need to be like more like Paul.  When he had finally arrived in Rome, after a 3-year long arduous journey, he found himself a prisoner in his own home.  He continued to preach his message about Christ faithfully and let God take care of the rest.

Starting tonight, I am going to be a happy warrior as described in “Character of the Happy Warrior by William Wordsworth and as explained by Pastor Andy.

Who is the happy Warrior? Who is he

That every man in arms should wish to be?

–It is the generous Spirit, who, when brought

Among the tasks of real life, hath wrought

Upon the plan that pleased his boyish thought:

Whose high endeavours are an inward light

That makes the path before him always bright;

My endeavors are guided by an inward light that makes the path before me always bright.

2 thoughts on “Sunday Sacred Sanctuary – Am I a “happy warrior”?

  1. “God makes all things beautiful in his time…” which is to say, we do our part and leave the result up to him. I love you and am proud of you. Another way to put all this is to say “Don’t worry, be happy”! If all learners could have you for a teacher the world would be a better place.

Leave a Reply

