Monday Metaphorical Moment – Two to Tango

It takes two to tango.

I dance Argentine Tango. As you can imagine, I’ve heard tons of tango truisms.  Some of my fellow tango afficionados nearly absolutize tango and make everything in life about tango.  In short, tango is a metaphor for life.  And while there are many intriguing and valid observations about life to be seen at a milonga, I dare to say that tango is not a metaphor for all of life.  For that, I am thankful.

Tango is a great sidebar to the rest of my life, but it is not my life.  I don’t need to refer to tango to explain all the situations in my life.  Again, for that, I am thankful.

Tango rhythms are a basic 4/4, but with a syncopated rhythm that calls dancers to the dance floor.  One of my favorite tango orchestra leaders, Juan D’Arienzo, was famous for inspiring tangueros to enter the floor for a tanda.  One of my early favorite D’Arienzo recordings is “A Media Luz” (half light).  

Tonight, I will join some very good friends at Zaguan Latin Cafe for a milonga.  I am going because I enjoy dancing tango.  “It takes two to tango,” so I do hope that I find several worthy partners to share tandas of exhilarating music with me tonight.  Each tango is approximately three minutes, not a life time.  Those three minutes can uplift and transport dancers to a beautiful moment. At the end of the evening, tango is still, well, tango.  Life is much larger than tango, but having tango in my life certainly makes some of those moments more special.

3 thoughts on “Monday Metaphorical Moment – Two to Tango

  1. “I wanna put on my, my, my, my, my Boogie shoes…” oh, wait, wrong dance. Glad you have tango to enjoy in your life and that it is not your whole life. I’m probably more of a my my my my my boogie girl kind of dancer, if I danced. Which I don’t. Not often. Not in public.

    Read more: K.c. And The Sunshine Band – Boogie Shoes Lyrics | MetroLyrics

Leave a Reply

