True Story Tuesday – Really?

Media connoisseurship…  Learn to censor.

I am on a work break.  (Yeah!)  Today, I took turns being productive and efficient along with being a social network browser.  It is unbelievable to me what some of my friends will post.  Yet, this is “true story Tuesday.” 

1.  Someone posted that a certain president was “hilarious” on a certain show with a couple of plants on the set.  Oh my.  If that is funny, then I have completely lost my sense of humor.  The real true story is probably that I am a highly-intelligent person whose sense of humor is complex enough to wilt those two ferns.  Yes, those ferns need to die. Ergo, no more banal, unimaginative drivel from that venue. 

2. A couple of friends enthusiastically re-posted a news story about a faulty boiler incident in Berlin that caused a 200-million year old dinosaur egg to hatch.  How cool is that!!! Wow!!!  The true story here is not about the well-preserved dinosaur egg, but that educated people, with post-grad degrees in the sciences posted it as the serious news story of the hour.  

Oops.  This is sounding like a rant.  Okay, so who hasn’t laughed at non-funny material? (I have.) And who hasn’t believed an outrageous story before checking with Snopes?  (Guilty.)   So, I am not judging my friends who posted these things.

The true story I am lamenting is that we as a society are too-quickly ready and willing to digest what media throws at us–much like monkeys catching peanuts in their gullets because it is entertaining to someone else.

One thought on “True Story Tuesday – Really?

Leave a Reply

