Monday Metaphor – I am a gem.

Gems I am a gem. When precious stones or metals are polished or rubbed, their luster increases.  I sense that this school year is a time of intense pressure and rubbing.  I will be the precious stone whose brilliance is richer for all the chafing.

Pictured are a few pears and emeralds given to me by a dear one.  As I treasure these, so will I treasure the opportunities to be painfully polished. God’s grace cover me.

Wikipedia in its entry “Pearl” adds that a pearl is a “metaphor for something very rare, fine, admirable, and valuable.” That reminds me of one of my favorite Bible verses, Philippians 4:8.  “Whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable–if anything is excellent or praiseworthy–think about such things.” (NIV)

This school year, I will dwell on admirable and praiseworthy things.  By the grace of God, this year will make me shine!

4 thoughts on “Monday Metaphor – I am a gem.

Leave a Reply

